Southgate, Thomas and Kane lead the sports stars on the New Year Honours list

Updated: 19/04/2024

England football manager Gareth Southgate, Three Lions captain Harry Kane and cyclist Geraint Thomas are among the sports stars decorated with awards for their achievements.

Southgate, who led the national team to its first World Cup semi-final since 1990, is appointed an OBE for his services to football.

Southgate said: “I'm an incredibly proud Englishman, so having had the opportunity to have represented my country as a player more than 50 times and then to manage the team at a World Cup has been an absolute privilege.”

Cyclist Geraint Thomas, who won the Tour de France in July and was named BBC Sports Personality of the Year earlier this month, is appointed an OBE.

In the New Year honours list, fashion icon Twiggy, Thai cave rescuers, author Philip Pullman, conservationist Chris Packham, politicians and ordinary people were celebrated.


Harry Kane of England celebrates victory in the World Cup game against Colombia (Photo: Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Kane, who was awarded the Golden Boot for being the top scorer in the World Cup in Russia, has been made an MBE.

Kane told Spurs TV that receiving the honour is “quite surreal”, before hailing a “great year for club and country”.

Premier League executive chairman Richard Scudamore, who has headed the organisation for almost 20 years and will shortly step down from his role, has been appointed a CBE.

Rangers and Northern Ireland defender Gareth McAuley is made an MBE, as is former Arsenal and Football Association vice-chairman David Dein, who is honoured for services to football and voluntary work in schools and prisons.

Tackling discrimination

Great Britain’s Geraint Thomas (Photo: Marco Bertorello/AFP/Getty)

Richard Johnson, champion jump jockey in 2016, is appointed an OBE, along with former Manchester United goalkeeper and Northern Ireland football manager Harry Gregg.

Leroy Rosenior, vice-president of Show Racism The Red Card, is made an MBE for services to tackling discrimination in sport, while Women’s Sport Trust co-founder Joanna Bostock is honoured for services to gender equality in sport.

Kate Caithness, president of the World Curling Federation, received a CBE for services to sport, and her fellow Scot, Commonwealth Games Federation president Louise Martin, is made a dame.

England netball star Geva Mentor received a CBE, three-time Olympic silver medallist Frances Houghton received an MBE for services to rowing.

Former England cricketer Matthew Maynard is appointed an MBE for services to charity and sport.

Read more on New Year Honours

The post Southgate, Thomas and Kane lead the sports stars on the New Year Honours list appeared first on

Original source:

Relevant news

Leave a Reply